Thoughts In Chicagooooooooo, Chicago

Hello Friends!

I’m currently sitting in the garden in Chicago’s Millenium Park. I’m feeling serine and relaxed for the first time in a few weeks. Have you ever just sat somewhere and felt like you were the only human on planet earth? That might be a bit of a stretch but that is how I am feeling right now.

Things happen every single day that can alter the entirety of your life. Big or small, we all have our issues and our quarks that worry us on a daily basis. I am sitting here right now, in this garden, putting my worries in perspective.

The little happenings that affect us day by day don’t have to. Small things get to us so grand because we let them. If someone who you’ve been trying to see for a while cancels plans with you once again; stop initiating plans. If they want to see you, they’ll make the time and put in the effort. If someone posts something that makes you feel a certain way; stop following them. If there is an event in the future that you’re losing sleep over; plan little things in between to keep your mind off it.

There is a solution to every stressor; whether it be a distraction or a cancelation. Life is too short to spend time stressing over little things.

Yesterday my traveling partner and I went up to the 96th floor of the John Hancock Building here in Chicago where you overlook the entire city. Looking down upon everything that, just 10 minutes ago, you were a part of, is a thought-provoking act; or at least it was for us. Watching the little ant-sized people hustling and bustling down in the doll-sized streets is almost entertaining.


To think that all of these people have loved ones, worries, stressors, things that are completely altering their world right at this moment, and I’m up on the 96th floor watching their life pass by was pretty eye-opening.

Being that high up makes you remember how small you are. All of us are guilty of getting caught up in life and living selfishly. Every once in a while we need to stop and think about not only how we can better our lives to make us genuinely happier beings, but also how we can better the lives of the people around us.

I, for one, am aware of how fortunate I am to be able to do the things I do and to have the opportunities I have. I also know how hard I work and how hard I will have to continue to work to get to where I want to be. I’m aware that many people do not have the opportunities that I have. This is why I look for ways to improve those people’s lives in any way that I can. From tutoring at my university to volunteering at Feeding South Florida, anything helps.

Getting in touch with nature helps me think and brainstorm ways to better myself and my world. I thought about the flowers within the Millenial Park Garden. To think that all of these different variteties of flowers were able to grow side-by-side is humbling in a world full of prejudice and fear of being different. Every one of us are unique individuals and we should embrace that, not hide it.


I think we get too caught up in our own lives that we forget we share this world with 7 billion other people. After reading me ramble on for a few minutes about all of this, I hope you see what I see, self-reflect, and go out and make this beautiful world an even better place than it already is.

Published by

Zoe Zbar

My name is Zoe and I love to travel and see new things but I especially love writing about my experiences! Join me as I document my journey through life. I'll write the good, the bad, the ugly, the pretty, the funny, the sad, and everything in between. Don't be afraid to let me know what you think. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

